Birds of Paradise

Lek ‘fore a bower
Beetles and coins
Dance in a whirl of leaves

Blood on a cross
Crest for a plume
Dream until I believe

Watch with a magpie fascination
Warble her name and squabble for fame
Top of the tree only reaches so far
And I’m just one other star

Please see me please
Do what I want
Please see me please
Tell me I’m enough

– 2022


Published by P. S. Clinen

Official website of Australian author and artist, P.S.Clinen. He has published two novels - Tenebrae Manor and The Will of the Wisp, as well as the illustrated poem A Boy Named Art. His most recent release is a poetry collection Vignettes - An Anthology. All of his works are available to purchase on Amazon. Check back often for more by this author, including poetry, short stories and other updates.